Down to ride til the very end

“If you love a flower, don’t pick it up. Because if you pick it up, it dies and ceases to be what you love. So if you love a flower, let it be. Love is not about possession. Love is about appreciation.”

-Osho

I love this so much more than “If you love someone, set them free”. No, if you love somebody, don’t set them free so they can fly away from you are you fuckin nuts let them continue to be who they are. Don’t try to change them, don’t try to snatch them into your possession and force them to be who they don’t want to be; they’ll only despise you. As time goes on they will collect memories of who they used to be –  they will watch those memories from behind bars and they will hate you for it. You loved them for who they were, why would you try to change them into something different, I don’t understand?????

Love and appreciate them so that they choose to never be away from you, so that they choose to do anything to make you happy, they will choose to mould into who you really want them to be. It’s completely normal to want somebody to do – or not do – things for you, and you SHOULD ask them. Not force them. As humans, we like to do things out of choice. If you order me to do something I was already going to do, I won’t do it anymore. But ask me nicely and I will. If you are important to me, naturally I’ll want to do things for you, and I like being advised. Sorry, I don’t make the rules.

But being passive is just as bad as ordering them around. Don’t let everything slide, if it bothers you, LET IT BE KNOWN. But give suggestions, not orders. You ain’t gonna get that ride or die shit by treating your partner or your friend like your minion. Mutual understanding. Compromise. Love and appreciation. It’s really not that hard, damn.

If you try to pick me up and pour me into your mould, I will stab you with my thorns. But if you love and appreciate me, I’ll uproot myself and come running to you.


Now Playing: Bonnie & Clyde – Jay Z & Beyonce

Note: The quote I’ve used is more about the ‘possession’ part than the ‘trying to change someone’ part, but hey ho I took it and slightly altered the meaning with this interpretation. If you want a flower, plant it in your garden so it can be free but completely yours. Water it regularly and always keep it in sunlight, else it will die. Tchus.

 

One thought on “Down to ride til the very end

I like reading. Leave me a comment.

