Hoping this’ll reach my soul [June Journal]

5/06/2017

I literally just punched in ‘June blog post ideas’ because I’m lame and am pushing myself to be productive whilst forcing my dangerously-close-to-surfacing repressed thoughts to remain repressed, and here we are!

Today’s prompt: The books in your to-read list

Out of all the lists I ever make (and honestly I make more than I care to admit), this is probably my favourite. I am a book hoarder; I have shelves, tv stands, desks and floors full of books. I have books on the end of my bed, and I’m short enough for my feet not to reach them. I have read about 5% of the books I own, and this number decreases because I keep buying more and reading less – the main reason is because I tend to pick up a book and put it down halfway in order to pick up another. I rarely finish a book, even if I absolutely love it, so it’s gotta be special if I actually finish it.

But now that I’ve finished university I am going to FORCE myself to stick to my reading list and read the books cover to cover. I’m serious about this, so I’ve compiled a list that is actually achievable by the end of the year. No, this year I’m not even going to bother trying to read Lolita again (I will, but if I don’t write it down then I don’t feel guilty when I inevitably abandon it). Here we go.

The remaining Harry Potter books
And by that I mean…the next four or something. I like diversity in my reading habits, and you can’t possibly expect me to read all the Harry Potter books in a row when I have to constantly switch up my gum between two flavours.

Game of Thrones – George R.R. Martin (Book 1 only)
I bought this so long ago after the hype over the TV show died down… I read a few pages and got so busy that I just never picked it up again, and it has been collecting dust.

It’s Kind of a Funny Story – Ned Vizzini
I found this book whilst researching the potential texts I could use for my dissertation. It didn’t make it to the list, but it’s one of those books that intrigued me as I flicked through the pages. It’s about depression and you know I like books about mental health.

Crime and Punishment – Fyodor Dostoyevsky
I have owned this book for god knows how long. I have heard good things and bad things. But one thing remains: this is something everybody should read in their lifetime. So just in case I die next year, I’ll try to have this done by the end of 2017.

Nutshell – Ian McEwan
Ummm a retelling of Hamlet narrated by a foetus? Of course I’m reading that. Add to that the reminiscent quality of JED FUCKING PARRY, McEwan is 100% on my list.

The Road – Cormac McCarthy
This novel just sounds so rugged to me, and I’ve been wanting to read it since winter a couple of years ago. Post-apocalyptic. Father and son. Ya, gimme it.

The Blue Fox – Sjon
I have no explanation for wanting to read this book. Honestly. I can’t tell you why I want to read it. But I will read it and get back to you once I have.

Kalevala – Elias Lönnrot
Finnish masterpiece? Yes please. I have a thing for epic poetry.

Embarrassingly, that’s it. My faith in myself only extends so far – as you can see, all of those books are… old. Except Nutshell. I would love to read new books, but I’m always so sceptical about new releases, there are so many to choose from and I don’t want to regret spending time on a book. So if you have any recommendations, please let me know xxxxx

I like reading. Leave me a comment.

